Characters:

• Wife
• Husband
• Wife’s friend

Background:

• The couple recently got married.
• Wife is talkative and frolic.
• Husband is silent and mature.

Scene:

On an ordinary day while both friends were chatting

Wife: My husband doesn’t talk much.

The friend was thinking, who can speak in front of her? She is too much talkative, anyway

Wife’s friend: hmm, then?

Wife: Sometimes he doesn’t reply to me as well.

Wife’s friend: For sure, there would be no answers to your questions, as far as I know you.

Wife: It’s not like that…

Wife’s friend: Then what do you do?

Wife: Nothing, I assume that my voice hits his ears but doesn’t pass through his brain and reflects back.

And they broke out into laugh….

After few days

Wife: What you want me to cook?

Husband: (silence)

Wife: God, your silence kills me.

Husband: Dear! Cook anything you like to eat.

Wife: No, I want you to tell me

Husband (decided randomly): OK! Then make chicken curry.

Wife: No, it’s been ages, we haven’t eaten Pizza.

Husband: Then?

Wife: Then we will eat pizza today.

Husband (with a smile on his face): OK!

Few days later, she again complained to her friend about her husband’s silent nature.

Wife: I think he doesn’t like to talk.

Wife’s friend: hmm, now what’s new?

Wife: Nothing, it’s been a routine now. I think I will get used to it.

Wife (in a depressing tone): I asked him a hundred times that what the matter is but it was of no use. I think it would be difficult for us to remain together.

Wife’s Friend: Buddy, everybody has different nature. He is a quiet person.

Wife: So what? He should answer me.

Wife’s friend: But..

Wife interrupted

Wife(angrily): I don’t want to listen to your lecture. You better keep your mouth shut.

The conversation ended.

The following night, in the bedroom

Wife: I have bought a new dress. How’s it?

Husband: (silence)

Wife: Why don’t you answer me?

Husband: again silence

Wife: I am talking to you

Husband: Yeah it’s nice!

Wife: Not like this! Tell me properly.

Husband: (silence)

Wife (angrily): Don’t you have something to say?

Husband (looks up with a smile and says): If I say the dress isn’t nice then what will you do?

Wife: What? No it is very nice.

Husband: I don’t like it

Wife: Why? It is too expensive.

Husband: So what?

Wife: No, it’s nice and I am going to wear it tomorrow in the party.

Husband smiles and nods his head

Wife: What?

Husband: See, I knew it that you won’t listen to me, if you have decided once that you will wear the dress then nobody can change your mind. I understand you darling.

The wife stood quiet as his response was priceless and the husband continues reading the newspaper.

Moral:

Give some time to understand each other. Don’t get irritate. New relations take some time to grow.
Be patient!

